The American Christian Fiction Writers’ (ACFW) 2013 conference concluded Sunday in Indianapolis with an awards gala during which the Carol Award honors were presented for the best in Christian fiction traditionally published in the previous calendar year. From more than 380 entries in this year’s Carol Awards, the following books and authors received top honors:

Debut Novel: Wildflowers from Winter by Katie Ganshert, Waterbrook/Multnomah, editor Shannon Marchese

Category (short novel): Lost Legacy by Dana Mentik, Love Inspired, editor Emily Rodmell

Contemporary: Heart Echoes by Sally John, Tyndale House, editors Karen Watson, Stephanie Broene, and Kathy Olson

Historical: Where Lilacs Still Bloom by Jane Kirkpatrick, Waterbrook/Multnomah, editor Shannon Marchese

Historical Romance: A Promise to Love by Serena B. Miller, Revell, editor Vicki Crumpton

Mystery/Suspense/Thriller: The Soul Saver by Dineen Miller, Barbour Publishing, editors Rebecca Germany and Jaime Chavez

Novella: A Recipe for Hope by Beth Wiseman, Thomas Nelson, editor Natalie Hanemann

Romance: Saving Gideon by Amy Lillard, B&H Publishing, editors Julie Gwinn and Julie Carobini

Romantic Suspense: When a Heart Stops by Lynette Eason, Revell, editor Andrea Doering

Speculative: Daystar by Kathy Tyers, Marcher Lord Press, editor Jeff Gerke

Young Adult: Like Moonlight at Low Tide by Nicole Quigley, Zondervan, editor Jaque Alberta

The Carol Awards—named for innovative editor Carol Johnson—reflect the impact of skilled storytelling, judged by readers, authors, retailers, librarians, and other industry professionals.

ACFW is devoted to training in the craft of Christian fiction, educating in the market, and serving as an advocate in the traditional Christian fiction publishing industry, and reports more than 2,700 members and 29 local chapters in 21 states, international e-chapters, ACFW speaks as The Voice of Christian Fiction.  For more information about the Carol Awards, contact Allison Wilson.